A campaign by construction union Unite has secured improved calculated holiday pay for electricians employed by construction giant Balfour Beatty.

From January 2023, Balfour Beatty has agreed that all electricians employed under the terms of the Joint Industry Board (JIB) or Scottish Joint Industry Board (SJIB), the appropriate industrial agreements for electricians, will receive 32 full days holiday pay in the spirit of these agreements.

Currently the workers receive full holiday pay, which is based on average pay for 20 days of annual leave, with the remaining leave (up to 12 days a year) paid at basic pay rates. In most cases, this results in workers receiving a far lower level of pay for holidays paid at basic pay rates.

In addition the 280 workers who will benefit from this change in holiday pay, will each receive an additional payment of £250 this year, in recognition that holiday pay should be paid in full. 

Excellent result

Unite general secretary Sharon Graham said: “This is an excellent result for Unite’s construction members at Balfour Beatty. Unite is now entirely committed to improving the jobs, pay and conditions of its members and this agreement demonstrates that this approach is bearing fruit.”

The change in the way that Balfour Beatty will pay holiday pay brings the company into line with other employers that abide by the JIB/SJIB agreements.

Important agreement

Unite national officer Jason Poulter said: “This was a very important agreement and has settled a longstanding grievance for electricians employed by Balfour Beatty.

“Unite will now be working to ensure that other electrical contractors take action and begin paying workers their full holiday pay.”


Notes to editors

For media enquiries ONLY please contact Unite senior communications officer Barckley Sumner on 07802 329235 or 0203 371 2067.

Email: [email protected]

Unite is the UK and Ireland’s leading union fighting to protect and advance jobs, pay and conditions for members working across all sectors of the economy. The general secretary is Sharon Graham.