Serco traffic wardens will begin two weeks of strike action that will result in a ‘parking free for all’  in Ealing with a rally outside the town hall tomorrow. 

When: 5:30pm, Wednesday, 30 June, 2021 
Where: Ealing Town Hall, New Broadway, London, W5 2BY 

Since May 5, more than 40 civil enforcement officers have taken intermittent strike action over Serco’s offer of severance to elected Unite representatives, activists, and lay members, made to undermine trade union organisation and collective consultation. 

The fresh strikes mean that there will be no parking enforcement in Ealing between 30 June and 14 July

The dispute is also over Serco refusal to negotiate a new absence management policy for employees working on the Ealing contract. Unite believes the present policy is being used to unfairly dismiss employees and should be renegotiated. 

The demonstration outside of Ealing town hall is being held on the same day as Unite and Serco enter talks under the auspices of the conciliation service Acas.

Unite regional officer Clare Keogh said: “The parking free for all in Ealing over the next two weeks is entirely Serco’s fault. It is to be hoped that during the Acas talks, Serco will table proposals that our members can agree to and this dispute can be brought to a close. 

“As a Labour council, Ealing council should be condemning Serco’s union-busting tactics and pressuring them to stop. If Serco refuse, then the council should follow Labour policy and bring the civil enforcement contract back in-house.”


Ealing summer parking ‘free for all’ after new Serco civil enforcement strikes announced

During the coronavirus crisis Unite is working to keep workers and the public safe, to defend jobs and to protect incomes.

For media enquires ONLY contact Unite communications officer Ryan Fletcher on 07849 090215.
Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @unitetheunion Facebook: unitetheunion1 Instagram: unitetheunion Web: 

Unite is Britain and Ireland’s largest union with members working across all sectors of the economy. The general secretary is Len McCluskey.