Workers at the Drax power station in Yorkshire will strike for 48 hours on Sunday 14 July in a long-running dispute over pay, Unite, Britain and Ireland’s largest union, said today (Friday 28 July).

Unite’s nearly 400 members at the Selby site will also hold a further five 48 hour stoppages into December, after rejecting a two-year pay deal by a majority of 73 per cent.

The 48 hour strikes will take place on 14 July, 11 August, 8 September, 6 October, 3 November and 1 December. All the strikes will start at 08.00.

The workers at the power station, which produces an estimated seven per cent of Britain’s electricity needs, rejected a 2.8 per cent pay deal for each of the years starting January 2018 and January 2019 that was offered by Drax Power Ltd.

Unite regional officer Kelvin Mawer said: “Our members have overwhelmingly rejected the two-year pay deal of 2.8 per cent for both 2018 and 2019 as being woefully inadequate when the cost of living continues to soar.

“They will now hold six 48 hour strikes right up to December in their campaign for pay justice.

“Drax Power claims that the threatened strike action will have no impact on energy production as management and those on personal employment contracts will provide cover.

“We don’t believe this management ‘spin’ and think our members’ action in the coming months will have a detrimental impact on energy production.

“The best way to avoid this scenario is for the management to sit down and hold constructive talks with the trade unions to reach a fair pay settlement.

“Unite’s door is open 24/7 for such a dialogue before the first 48 hour stoppage commences on 14 July.” 

Unite will be co-ordinating its industrial action with the GMB union.


Notes to editors:

For more information please contact Unite senior communications officer Shaun Noble on 020 3371 2060 or 07768 693940. Unite press office is on:  020 3371 2065
Email: [email protected]

  • Unite is Britain and Ireland’s largest union with members working across all sectors of the economy. The general secretary is Len McCluskey.