The Executive Council have set in hand the election of the new Unite general secretary. The current general secretary, Len McCluskey, will step down from office and the successful candidate will assume office at the conclusion of the election.

The general secretary is responsible for the administration of the union; their powers and responsibilities are set out in Rule 15. The election for the general secretary is conducted by the Executive Council in accordance with Rule 16. 

In accordance with the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 Civica Election Services; have been appointed to act as Independent Scrutineer for this ballot. They can be contacted at the following address: The Independent Scrutineer, Civica Election Services, Election Centre, 33 Clarendon Road, London N8 0NW.

The election timetable is as follows:

Election details Dates
Nomination period: Thursday 6 May 2021 – 7 June 2021
Deadline for Receipt of Nominations: Wednesday 9 June 2021 at noon
Voting papers dispatched: From 5 July 2021
Deadline for voting papers to be returned to the Independent Scrutineer:
Monday 23 August 2021 at noon
Declaration of results
Thursday 26 August 2021

The nomination period closed on 7 June, and the numbers of valid nominations received by each candidate are as follows:

  • Howard Beckett 328
  • Gerard Coyne 196
  • Sharon Graham 349
  • Steve Turner 525

The final total may vary slightly from these figures as outstanding issues regarding the validity of some nominations are resolved. Ballot papers will be dispatched to more than one million Unite members from 5 July, and the result will be declared on 26 August.

Please bookmark this page and further details on the 2021 Unite general secretary election will be published in due course or find out more details from the special 2021 Unite general secretary election website.

[Last update 10 June 2021]