CPHVA Education & Development Trust annual report 2016

Report from AGM 16 November 2016

Chair of Trustees annual report

The Trustees continue to seek to manage the Trust’s financial resources effectively, and to use them through a system of bursaries in a way which reflects the current professional environment, whilst remaining true to the original goals of the MacQueen Bequest.  I would wish to express my appreciation of the work of all Trustees and members of the Professional Advisory Committee; but particularly I would pay tribute to our Hon. Treasurer Mike Briggs, under whose stewardship the Trust’s financial resources have continued to grow; to Denise Knight, Chair of the Professional Advisory Committee, which administers our bursaries; and to the UNITE Professional Officer Gavin Fergie.  A Trustee, Kathy Walters, is resigning at the 2016 AGM following her appointment as a UNITE Regional Officer for the South West.   Kathy has made a real contribution during her tenure as Trustee, and our congratulations and best wishes go with her as she takes up her new appointment.

In 2015, Bursaries were awarded for Excellence in Research of Leadership/ Practice Development , and for the Overseas Travel Project.  Unfortunately no applications were received for the Professional Development Bursary.  During the past year we also worked with the Parenting and Family Support Interest Group to finalise arrangements for making their 2014 award.  Our PAC continues to review the effectiveness of the Bursaries and their administration, and no doubt further amendments will come forward as appears necessary.  The Trust’s offer of subsidised Conference places for new entrants to the profession continues, although take-up is modest.  The impact of these developments will need to be monitored, and appropriate actions taken, in order that the Trust continues to meet the values and aspirations of our profession in a rapidly changing world.

Trustees and PAC members at 31st December 2015
John White (Chair) 
Michael Briggs (Hon Treasurer)
Kitty Lamb (Vice Chair)
Sarah Forrester (Hon. Secretary)
Kathy Walters
Dr Malcolm Rigler.

Professional Advisory Committee
Dr. Denise Knight (Chair)
Dr Val Thurtle (Hon Secretary)
Deborah Rountree
Linda Llewellyn
John White (Chair) 31/10/2016