CONTACT UNITE MEMBER LOGIN

Tories Out national demonstration

Cuts Cost Lives - join the #ToriesOut demo in London

Saturday 01 July 2017 at 10:00-21:00

Join the People’s Assembly national demonstration in London

Cuts CostAssemble 12.00 noon
BBC Broadcasting House, 
Portland Place, London W1A 1AA
(Closest tube: Regent's Park or Oxford Circus)

Join the march to Parliament Square

(Closest tube:
(Closest tube:

The general election result was devastating for Theresa May and the Tories. May called it to gain a bigger majority in parliament but failed spectacularly to deliver on that. Now the Tories are in chaos, forced to try to prop up a government with the deeply conservative and regressive DUP. Even if the Tories can get a Queen’s Speech through parliament this arrangement is unsustainable, it won't last for long. 

The election result represents a rejection of Tory policies. The Tories know they have no mandate; already the government has suggested it may have to ease its austerity plans because of huge opposition. 

Now we need to make sure the full force of opposition is felt, if we mobilise in huge numbers we can force big concessions on the NHS, education, housing and jobs. There is already talk of another general election in the next few months. 

We're marching against another five years of a Tory government committed to austerity, cuts and privatisation. And we're marching for a decent health service, education system, housing, jobs and living standards for all. 

We urge all members to join the demonstration, and stand shoulder to shoulder in one massive show of strength on Saturday 1 July.

Put the date in your diary and join the demonstration!

MATERIALS
Click here to download the leaflet
Click here to download the A4 poster
Click here to download the A3 poster

Click here to download the Checklist & Routemap

Click here to download the A5 leaflet

THE ROUTE
The route has been confirmed. It is BBC Broadcasting House, Portland Place, Regent Street, Haymarket, Cockspur Street, Whitehall and finish at Parliament Square (nearest tubes: Westminster, Embankment, Charring Cross).

ACCESSIBILITY:
  • British Sign Language interpreters will be provided at both the start and end rally.
  • Shorter route: for those that don't feel they can march the whole route we advise assembling opposite Downing Street (Richmond Terrace) from 1:30pm and joining the march as it comes past.
  • An area for wheelchair users, deaf and disabled people will be fenced off at the front of the stage in Parliament Square.
  • The march will be on the road for the whole route so there shouldn't be any problems for wheelchair users.
  • Toilets: unfortunately it is impossible for to provide toilets on the march due to budget and space limitations. However, there are many cafes, pubs, and some public toilets along the route.
  • If you have any accessibility questions or specific needs please email office@thepeoplesassembly.org.uk

TRANSPORT INFORMATION

Unite regions are running transport to the demonstration. Further details will be added here as they are confirmed. 

Please include the following details in your email: Name, Unite membership number and phone contact details.


Region Email
Transport
East Midlands
Paresh.Patel@unitetheunion.org
Jayne.Carlin@unitetheunion.org
Nottingham/Derby coach            
London & Eastern
Mick.O'Sullivan@unitetheunion.org
Danny.Freeman@unitetheunion.org
Ian.Maidlow@unitetheunion.org
Norfolk Peoples Assembly is running a coach from Norwich.
To book a place on this coach email Norfolkpeoplesassembly@mail.com

8.30am Ipswich (Crown Street Layby)
9.00am Stowmarket Railway Station
9.30am Bury St. Edmunds Bus Station (Stand 9) at 9.30.
To book your place on this coach email Suffolkpeoplesassembly@runbox.com

10.00am Colchester (Old Cinema, Crouch Street)
To book a place on this coach email akirke@hotmail.com

10.00am Unite House, 101 Madingley Road, Cambridge CB3 0EL
To book tickets click here
North East Yorks

Sharron.Lucas@unitetheunion.org 
Ryan.Case@unitetheunion.org



North West
Felicity.Taylor@unitetheunion.org
Limited train tickets available for members, please contact Felicity.
Scotland
Bryan.Simpson@unitetheunion.org

Please email Bryan for details of the Glasgow coach

South East
Joe.Dukes@unitetheunion.org

Kent coach - Free for Unite members
8.45am Ramsgate railway station
9.15am Margate railway station
10.00am Canterbury East Railway Station
To book your seat e-mail: peoplesassemblythanet@gmail.com

Southampton coach
8.30am SeaCity Museum
Seat reservations via Eventbrite.
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/mass-demonstration-not-one-day-more-tories-out-no-more-austerity-tickets-35428612935 

South West
Katie.Llewellin@unitetheunion.org
8.00am Tony Benn House, Victoria Street, Bristol, BS1 6AY
Wales
Karen.Hall@unitetheunion.org

West Midlands
Brian.Rickers@unitetheunion.org
7.15am Stoke - Unite Office, 140 Broad Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent  ST1 4HP
7.30am Stafford – Opposite Stafford train station
7.45am Wolverhampton – Pipers Row, Wolverhampton  WV1 3JY (opposite Wulfrun Hotel)
7.45am Worcester – Unite Office, 8 Severn Street, Worcester  WR1 2ND
8.00am Bromsgrove – The Holiday Inn Express (off Junction 5) Droitwich, Bromsgrove
8.00am West Bromwich - Unite office 9-17 Victoria Street B70 8HX
8.30am Birmingham - Unite office Heanage Street West B7 4AX

Please contact Unite Birmingham office 0121 643 6221 for coach reservation